Joint USA-RSA Workshop on the
Teaching of
Mechanical Engineering Design
JULY 8 - JULY 10, 1998
 

 
PROGRAM
Wednesday July 8, 1998
 
09:00 - 09:45
 
            Introduction
 
            Objectives

09:45- 10:45

1.     Undergraduate Design Syllabi

10:45-11:05
 
            Refreshments
 

11:05-12:30

2.     Measuring the Effectiveness of Design Curricula

3.     Industry Requirements for Design Engineering Graduates
 
 
 

12:30- 13:45

            Lunch
 

13:45 - 15:15
 

 4.     Design and Production Teaching Interfaces

            4.1   Integrating, Design for Manufacture and System                                                Anton Basson
            Design into Undergraduate Design Courses
 
            4.2   Bringing Virtual and Physical Prototyping into the                                            Susan Finger
            Classroom
 

5.     Undergraduate Design Projects

            5.1   ELASTOTRUCK- An Elementary Design Challenge                                        Peter Allan
 

15:15 - 15:30

            Refreshments

15:30 - 17:00

6.     Postgraduate Mechanical Engineering Design
            Curriculum

            6.1   A Java-based Tool for Teaching Design Optimization                                    Brian Fabien
 

            6.2   Technology Deployment in Product-based Design                                           Ade Mabogunje
            Classes: A Research Perspective

            6.3   Quality Engineering Curriculum Development with                                         Way Kuo
            an Illustration on Industrial Engineering



 
 
PROGRAM
Thursday July 9, 1998
 

9:00 - 10:45
 

7.     Use of Computers in Design Engineering
 
            7.1   A computer Aided Life-Cycle Engineering Approach                                     Patricia Mead
            To the Design of Electronic Products and Systems
 
            7.2   Use of Working Model and Matlab in Mechanical                                          Shih-Liang Wang
            Design

11:05 - 12:30

8.     Interdisciplinary Design Engineering
 
            8.1   A Perspective on Multi-disciplinary Integration of                                         Sunil Agrawal
            Design and Control
 

12:30 - 14:00
 
             Lunch

14:00 - 15:15

15:30 - 17:00

PARTICIPANTS
USA 
 
Home page Email Home university
Sunil K. Agrawal  agrawal@udel.edu University of Delaware 
Brian C. Fabien  fabien@u.washington.edu University of Washington 
Susan Finger sfinger@ri.cmu.edu Carnegie Mellon University 
Sue Kemnitzer  skemnitz@nsf.gov National Science Foundation
Way Kuo way@tamu.edu Texas A& M University
Ade Mabogunje ade@cdr.stanford.edu Stanford University 
Patricia Mead  ashaki@eng.umd.edu University of Maryland 
Robert Smith  robsmith@washington.edu University of Washington
Shih-Liang Wang slwang@ncat.edu North Carolina A& T State University
 
SOUTH AFRICA    
 
Home page Email address Home University
Peter Allan  peterA@umfolozi.ntech.ac.za Technikon Natal 
Nilesh Bhana  nbhana@hertz.mech.wits.ac.za University of the Witwatersrand 
Anton Basson ahb@ingson.ac.za University of Stellenbosch
Rob Bodger  BODGER@eng.und.ac.za University of Natal
Gerhard Coetzee gc@ing1.rau.ac.za Rand Afrikaans University 
Andrew Dickson adickinson@hertzmech.wits.ac.za University of the Witwatersrand
Eugene Erfort ERFORTE@mecheng.pentech.ac.za Peninsula Technikon 
Eugene Fourie eugene.fourie@eng.up.ac.za University of Pretoria
Danie Hattingh  DANIEH@ml.petech.ac.za Port Elizabeth Technikon 
Hennie Le Roux  alida@elands.reumech.co.za Reumech Ermetek 
Andrew Mkoko East Cape Technikon
Muissa Mangaya  mmangaya@hertz.mech.wits.ac.za University of the Witwatersrand
Costa Rallis  crallis@hertz.mech.wits.ac.za University of the Witwatersrand
Chris Redlinghuys CHRISR@engfac.uct.ac.za University of Cape Town
Fox Reinhardt foxr@pixie.udw.ac.za University of Durban-Westville 
James Terblanche  jamest@vtt_nt.tritek.ac.za Vaal Triange Technikon 
Bekker van Niekerk  chimera@global.co.za The Hamilton Airship Company
Kobus van Wyk  kobus.vwyk@eng.up.ac.za University of Pretoria
Arno Wolhuter MGIAW@puknet.puk.ac.za Potchefstroom University for CHE
 
http://www.me.washington.edu/fabien.html